Coming June 9, 2016, Here & Now listeners and visitors will experience our stories and journalism online in a whole new way.
At the bottom of the first inning, with the Red Sox’s Dustin Pedroia running to second, the Cardinal’s shortstop Pete Kozma –who was covering second — completely missed the ball.
But the second base umpire –Dana DeMuth — called Pedroia out. The other umpires overturned the call.
As home plate umpire John Hirschbeck said to the Cardinals’ manager, “There’s five of us out here, OK? And all five of us say we’re 100 percent sure that that was not a catch.”
The Red Sox went onto win the first game of the World Series 8-1.